MS Australia 50 Years President’s Medal

31/01/2023 by

Last year saw 50 years of progress in driving awareness, research, and support for people with MS. To mark this anniversary MS Australia selected 50 recipients from many worthy Australians to be awarded the MS Australia 50 Years President’s Medal. 

With this medal, MS Australia recognises unwavering and passionate dedication, consistent and selfless service, and many contributions towards the MS movement in Australia.

A special mention to our Queensland medal recipients:

  • Professor Michael Pender is the founder and lead researcher for the Pender Research Study based at Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, and Professor of Medicine at The University of Queensland. Professor Pender has made a significant difference to the lives of people living with MS for more than 30 years.
  • Professor Simon Broadley is a highly respected Professor of Neurology at Griffith University who has been looking after people with MS for over 20 years, and researching ways to better manage MS. 
  • Kaye Hooper is a research nurse who has been involved in MS research since 1994. Kaye is a registered nurse and midwife who assists with patient visits in current clinical trials as well. She has extensive experience in clinical care, support and education for patients, their families and other nurses and health care professionals.
  • Tim O’Maley is a long serving MS Nurse who supported MS Queensland and Mater clinics throughout his career. Tim has extensive knowledge and experience in clinical care for people living with MS and has been a huge support for our community across Queensland over many years.

Thank you all for your ongoing support! 

Click here to view all of the incredible medal recipients and here’s to another 50 years of outstanding people working to ultimately find a cure for MS.

Related Articles