The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is rolling out geographically across Queensland by local government area. You will transition into the NDIS depending on where you live.

NEW DATES FOR SOME AREAS:  If you are already receiving services funded under the existing disability support system in Queensland (state clients) and you live in the NDIS regions for Ipswich, Bundaberg or Rockhampton, access will be available to the NDIS earlier than previously known. These dates are listed below.


The roll-out of the NDIS across Queensland began in early 2016 in Townsville. It will continue in stages by local government area, completing in January 2019.

The NDIS is available to all those who meet eligibility requirements, regardless of whether you currently receive disability supports or services. Find out how you could access the NDIS here

A person may meet the access requirements to become a participant of the NDIS up to 6 months prior to the date listed for each area.
You don’t need to be registered with the existing disability support system to take part in the NDIS.
If you are already receiving services funded under the existing disability support system, you will continue to do so until you transition to the NDIS.

NDIS rollout for Queensland

Our easy to print information sheet on the pdf Queensland rollout (164 KB)  is a handy reference guide. You can also see an interactive version of the below map here.
NDIS rollout map
1 JULY 2016 Townsville and Charters Towers (0-17 years), Palm Island (0-64 years)
  Local Government Areas: Townsville, Charters Towers, Palm Island
1 OCTOBER 2016 Townsville and Charters Towers (18+ years), Hinchinbrook, Burdekin, west to Mount Isa, and up to the gulf
  Local Government Areas:  Townsville, Charters Towers, Palm Island, Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Carpentaria, Cloncurry, Doomadgee, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, McKinlay, Mornington, Mount Isa, Richmond
1 NOVEMBER 2016 Mackay, Isaac and Whitsundays
  Local Government Areas:  Isaac, Mackay, Whitsunday
1 JANUARY 2017 Toowoomba and west to the SA and NSW borders
  Local Government Areas:  Balonne, Bulloo, Goondiwindi, Maranoa, Murweh, Paroo, Quilpie, Southern Downs, Toowoomba, Western Downs

1 JULY 2017

(26 May 2017 for state clients)

Ipswich, Lockyer, Scenic Rim and Somerset
  Local Government Areas:  Ipswich City, Lockyer Valley, Scenic Rim, Somerset

1 OCTOBER 2017

(1 September 2017 for state clients)


Local Government Areas:  Bundaberg

1 JANUARY 2018

(1 November 2017 for state clients)

Rockhampton, Gladstone and west to the NT and SA borders
  Local Government Areas:  Banana, Barcaldine, Barcoo, Blackall Tambo, Central Highlands, Diamantina, Gladstone, Livingstone, Longreach, Rockhampton, Winton, Woorabinda
1 JULY 2018 Brisbane, Logan, Redlands, Gold Coast and hinterland, Fraser Coast, North and South Burnett, Cherbourg, Cairns, Cassowary Coast, Tablelands, Croydon, Etheridge, Cape York and Torres Strait
  Local Government Areas:  Brisbane City, Gold Coast City, Logan City, Redland City, Cherbourg, Fraser Coast, North Burnett, South Burnett, Aurukun, Cairns, Cassowary Coast, Cook, Croydon, Douglas, Etheridge, Hope Vale, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Mapoon, Mareeba, Napranum, Northern Peninsula Area, Pormpuraaw, Tablelands, Torres, Torres Strait Island, Weipa, Wujal Wujal, Yarrabah
1 JANUARY 2019 Sunshine Coast, Noosa, Gympie, Moreton Bay including Strathpine and Caboolture
  Local Government Areas:  Moreton Bay, Gympie, Noosa, Sunshine Coast                                                                                          

We can help

If you would like to talk to our team about the NDIS please call us on the MS InfoLine 1800 177 591 or email
For a handy list of reference sheets on aspects of the NDIS, as well as some useful NDIS websites, click here.